Reetuparna Das named ACM SIGMICRO chair

Prof. Das will oversee the group’s efforts to support cutting-edge research in computer microarchitecture.
Prof. Reetuparna Das
Prof. Reetuparna Das

Reetuparna Das, associate professor of computer science and engineering at U-M, has been elected chair of the ACM Special Interest Group on Microarchitecture (SIGMICRO). In this role, she will help lead the group’s activities in service of the advancement of microarchitecture research.

“I am honored to be selected for this role,” said Prof. Das. “I am looking forward to further serving SIGMICRO and promoting its goal to advance the computer microarchitecture field.”

ACM SIGMICRO is one of the largest and most prominent communities of researchers and practitioners specializing in computer microarchitecture. Its annual conference, the IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO), is the premier global venue for the latest findings in this area, drawing scholars from around the world to share their discoveries and innovations related to microarchitecture, compilers, chips, and more.

Prof. Das is an established expert in computer architecture, with a record of cutting-edge research on in-memory architectures, custom computing for precision health applications, fine-grain heterogeneous processor architectures for mobile systems, and low-power scalable interconnects. She previously served as vice-chair of ACM SIGMICRO, chair of the MICRO test-of-time award committee, and program co-chair of the 2019 MICRO conference.