David Paoletti voted 2022 HKN Professor of the Year in CSE

This is the second time that Dr. Paoletti has been named Professor of the Year by a vote of the students.
David Paoletti received award
Nilay Thummar, HKN President, surprises Dr. David Paoletti in his class with the award.

EECS students voted, and Dr. David Paoletti has been named the 2021–22 HKN Professor of the Year in CSE by the Beta-Epsilon chapter of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN), the national honor society for electrical and computer engineers.

The Professor of the Year Award is given based on a popular vote by all undergraduate and graduate students in programs administered by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. 

Paoletti joined the CSE Division in the fall of 2013 to teach EECS 281, Data Structures & Algorithms, a course that is considered the most important course in the computer science undergraduate program. Over the years, Paoletti has transformed the 800+ student course to be one of the best-regarded classes in the department and consistently produces well-informed and competent students. His lectures are considered to be detailed and informative and he works continuously to make the class better each semester.

A student who is just finishing EECS 281 with Paoletti says, “Dr. Paoletti is a fantastic teacher. He is extremely knowledgeable about anything CS-related and gives very clear explanations in lectures… I can’t recommend him enough; he is another absolute gem in the CS department.”

Outside of the classroom, Paoletti is an undergraduate advisor for computer science students enrolled through the College of Engineering, where he helps students to declare majors/minors and with course advising, career planning, and evaluating graduate school options. He also serves as the chair of the CS and DS undergraduate honors and award committee.

This is the second time that the students have voted Paoletti as HKN Professor of the Year in CSE; he received this recognition in 2015 as well. Paoletti has also been recognized for his work as an educator by the EECS Department and the College of Engineering: In 2016, he received the EECS outstanding achievement award, and in 2017 he received the College’s Thomas M. Sawyer, Jr. Teaching Award in 2017.